top of page
Image by Olga DeLawrence

Tax Measures

in Greece

The Greek government has introduced several tax measures and incentives to encourage individuals and investors to relocate their tax residency to Greece. These measures aim to create a favorable tax environment and promote investments and economic activities in the country. Here are some of the tax measures and incentives available:

50% discount

01

Tax exemption for seven (7) years

Individuals who transfer their tax residence to Greece can benefit from a 50% tax exemption on their worldwide income for the first seven (7) years.

 

This means that only 50% of their income will be subject to Greek taxation, while the remaining 50% will be exempted.

02

Tax incentives for “NonDom” investors

In addition to tax exemptions, Greece also offers tax incentives to individuals who invest in certain sectors of the economy. Investors who invest, for example, in renewable energy projects can benefit from reduced tax rates, tax exemptions, and more. This is referred to as the "Non-Domiciled Resident" (Non-Dom)...

Image by Hunters Race

03

Couple at Gallery

Alternative Taxation of Foreign Pensioners – Application of 7% Rate

Furthermore, there are tax incentives offered to attract foreign individuals, particularly retirees, who wish to transfer their tax residence to Greece. According to Article 5B of the Income Tax Code, foreign pensioners who transfer their tax residence to Greece are subject to an alternative method of income taxation with a flat rate of only 7% for foreign-source income. Based on statistics, for this specific regulation, 335 applications for inclusion in the alternative taxation scheme have been approved, from at least 21 countries since 2020, while 120 applications are currently under processing.

04

Access to the EU Single Market

By becoming a tax resident of Greece, individuals have the opportunity to access the EU Single Market. This means that natural persons can benefit from the free movement of goods, services, capital, and people within the EU, which can have a significant impact on their business activities.

Image by Antoine Schibler
Low Cost of Living

In comparison to other European countries, the cost of living in Greece is relatively low. This means that individuals who become tax residents in Greece can enjoy a high standard of living with significantly lower costs compared to other countries.

moneyreview.gr

Furthermore, according to an article on the Greek website "moneyreview.gr" published in January 2023, the transfer of tax residence to Greece is becoming increasingly popular among employees, self-employed individuals, retirees, and investors, as it is accompanied by a favorable tax management.

Family Offices

Already, many are transferring their tax residence to Greece and initiated the process of establishing Family Office Special Purpose Companies ("ΕΕΣΔΟΠ"). This is governed by Law No. 4778/2021, which aims to attract financial flows from high-net-worth individuals and regulates the operation of so-called "Family Offices". The prerequisite for the establishment of such entities is to incur annual operating expenses of at least 1,000,000 euros in Greece in each tax year.

bottom of page

top of page
Image by Olga DeLawrence

Steuerliche Maßnahmen

in Griechenland

Die griechische Regierung hat mehrere steuerliche Maßnahmen und Anreize eingeführt, um Personen und Investoren dazu zu bewegen, ihren steuerlichen Wohnsitz nach Griechenland zu verlagern. Diese Maßnahmen zielen darauf ab, ein günstiges Steuerumfeld zu schaffen und Investitionen sowie wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten im Land zu fördern. Es folgen einige der steuerlichen Maßnahmen und Anreize, die zur Verfügung stehen:

50% discount

01

Steuerbefreiung für sieben (7) Jahre

Natürliche Personen, die ihren steuerlichen Wohnsitz nach Griechenland verlegen, können von einer 50%igen Steuerbefreiung auf ihr weltweites Einkommen für die ersten sieben (7) Jahre profitieren.

Das bedeutet, dass nur 50% ihres Einkommens der griechischen Besteuerung unterliegen, während die verbleibenden 50% befreit werden.

02

Investitionsanreize für Nichtansässige “NonDom“ Investoren

Neben der Steuerbefreiung bietet Griechenland auch steuerliche Anreize für Investoren, die in bestimmte Wirtschaftsbereiche investieren. . Investoren, die aus Gründen der Investitionen in erneuerbare Energien investieren, können von reduzierten Steuersätzen, Steuerbefreiungen usw. profitieren. Dies wird durch den Status des "Non-Dom-Steuerzahlers"...

Image by Hunters Race

03

Couple at Gallery

Alternative Besteuerung von ausländischen Rentnern - Anwendung eines Steuersatzes von 7%

Infolge dieser Regelung wird für ausländische Rentner, die ihren steuerlichen Wohnsitz nach Griechenland verlegen, gemäß Artikel 5B des Einkommensteuergesetzes ein pauschaler Steuersatz von 7% auf ihre Einkommen aus dem Ausland, angewendet. Laut Statistiken, wurden für diese spezielle Regelung bereits seit 2020, 335 Anträge auf alternative Besteuerung von mindestens 21 Ländern genehmigt, während gegenwärtig 120 Anträge in Bearbeitung sind.

04

Zugang zum EU-Binnenmarkt

Indem eine Person steuerlicher Einwohner Griechenlands wird, hat sie die Möglichkeit, Zugang zum EU-Binnenmarkt zu erhalten. Das bedeutet, dass natürliche Personen von der freien Zirkulation von Waren, Dienstleistungen, Kapital und Personen innerhalb der EU profitieren können, was sich erheblich auf ihre geschäftlichen Aktivitäten auswirken kann.

Image by Antoine Schibler
Niedrige Lebenshaltungskosten

Im Vergleich zu anderen europäischen Ländern sind die Lebenshaltungskosten in Griechenland relativ niedrig. Das bedeutet, dass Personen, die steuerliche Einwohner in Griechenland werden, einen hohen Lebensstandard genießen können, bei deutlich geringeren Kosten im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern.

moneyreview.gr

Zusätzlich wird laut einem Artikel auf der griechischen Website "moneyreview.gr", der im Januar 2023 veröffentlicht wurde, die Verlegung des steuerlichen Wohnsitzes nach Griechenland immer beliebter bei Arbeitnehmer, Selbständigen, Rentnern und Investoren, zumal sie von einem vorteilhaften Steuerregime begleitet wird.

Family Offices

Bereits mehrere Personen haben ihren steuerlichen Wohnsitz nach Griechenland verlegt und den Prozess zur Gründung von Family-Office-Gesellschaften ("ΕΕΣΔΟΠ") eingeleitet. Hierbei handelt es sich um das Gesetz Nr. 4778/2021, das darauf abzielt, finanzielle Mittel von vermögenden Privatpersonen anzuziehen und die Funktionsweise von sogenannten "Family Offices" regelt, wobei die Voraussetzung für deren Gründung besteht darin, dass sie in Griechenland jährliche Betriebsausgaben in Höhe von mindestens 1.000.000 Euro tätigen.

bottom of page